The Philippine Council for Agriculture and Fisheries (PCAF) conferred on March 24, 2022 the highest title to the Agricultural and Fishery Council (AFC), both national and regional, who have served more than a decade and have provided noteworthy contributions in the development and strengthening of Philippine agriculture.

The awarding of Chairperson Emeritus and Pillar of Agriculture and Fisheries were part of the 7th National Agriculture and Fisheries Volunteers’ Day (NVD) celebration that highlighted the efforts of the volunteer-partners in helping the Department of Agriculture achieve its goal of a food-secure Philippines with prosperous farmers and fisherfolk.

The awardees of the Chairperson Emeriti were Vincent A. Adorna of RAFC Ilocos Region, Isidro B. Acosta. Sr. of RAFC Cagayan Valley, and Edgardo C. Layug  of RAFC Northern Mindanao.

While the Pillars Agriculture and Fisheries awards were given to Raul Q. Montemayor of the National Banner Program Committee (NBPC) on Rice , Alonso L. Tan of NBPC on Fisheries and Aquaculture, David T. Santos of NBPC on High Value Crops, Joel R. Panagsagan of the Other Priority Program Committee (OPPC) on Agricultural and Fisheries Mechanization, Dr. Arnulfo Frontuna of NBPC on Poultry, Livestock and Corn, and Dr. Rufina S. Salas of the Poultry, Livestock, and Feed Crops (former) and National Agriculture and Fisheries (NAF) Council Special Budget Committee (former).

A year after the EDSA Revolution, Executive Order 116 mandated PCAF, then the National Agricultural and Fishery Council, to establish a nationwide network of Agricultural and Fishery Councils to serve as the forum for the consultative and continuing discussions within the agriculture and fisheries sector. 

Aside from the major awards,  the NVD also highlighted the unique regional and local AFC awards, unique NBPC awards and the outstanding RAFC Sectoral Committee Awards.

These include the following awards:

Winners of the Unique Regional and Local AFC awards

  • Cordillera Autonomous Region- Indigenous Participatory Development Platform Award
  • Ilocos Region- Making Headway Through Youth Engagement Award
  • Cagayan Valley- Championing AFC Volunteerism Spirit Award
  • Central Luzon- Excellence in Local Governance Advocacy Award
  • CALABARZON- Bantay ASF Sa Barangay Advocate Award
  • MIMAROPA- Efficient Local Fiscal Policy Advocate Award
  • Bicol Region- OneDA Reform Agenda for Transformation Award
  • Western Visayas- Excellence in Inter-Agency Collaboration Award
  • Central Visayas- Fostering Integrity Management Best Practices Award
  • Eastern Visayas- Youth-Gad Collaboration in Action Award
  • Zamboanga Peninsula- Halal Industry Development Advocate Award
  • Northern Mindanao- Avant-Garde Award for Livestock Disease Control and Prevention Award
  • Davao Region- Regional Commodity Champion Advocate Award
  • SOCCSKSARGEN- Harbinger of Bounty for Aquaculture Award
  • CARAGA- Agricultural and Fishery Council Tech Savvy Award
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)- Resiliency Amid Transition Award

Winners of the Outstanding RAFC Sectoral Committee Awards

  • Ilocos Region- Regional Sectoral Committee on Poultry, Livestock and Corn
  • Cagayan Valley- Regional Sectoral Committee on High Value Crops
  • Central Luzon- Regional Sectoral Committee on Poultry, Livestock and Corn
  • CALABARZON- Regional Sectoral Committee on Corn
  • MIMAROPA- Regional Sectoral Committee on International Trade and Export
  • Bicol Region- Regional Sectoral Committee on Livestock
  • Western Visayas- Regional Sectoral Committee on Poultry, Livestock and Corn
  • Central Visayas- Regional Sectoral Committee on Fisheries
  • Davao Region- Regional Sectoral Committee on Poultry and Livestock
  • BARMM- Regional Sectoral Committee On Fisheries and Aquaculture

Winners of the Outstanding NBPC Committee Awards

  • NBPC on Rice- Competitiveness Enhancement Policy Advocate Award
  • NBPC On Poultry, Livestock and Corn- Championing Biosecurity for Industry Resiliency Award
  • NBPC On Fisheries and Aquaculture- Climate Resilient Community Advocate Award
  • NBPC on HVC-Fruits and Vegetables- Stakeholder Engagement Award
  • NBPC on HVC-Coffee and Cacao- Unity Platform for Participatory Development Award
  • NBPC on HVC-Fiber- Fervor and Firmness of Conviction Award
  • NBPC on HVD-Rubber- Progressive Resource-Based Industry Development Award
  • NBPC On Coconut- Game Changing Industry Development Award
  • OPPC on Agricultural and Fisheries Mechanization- Agriculture and Fisheries Prime Mover Award
  • NAMDAC/ CPES- Solid as a Rock Foundation Award

Policy Achiever Award -NBPC/OPPC

  • Fisheries and Aquaculture
  • NBPC on HVC – Coffee/Cacao
  • NBPC on HVC – Fiber
  • NBPC on HVC – Fruits and Vegetables
  • NBPC on HVC – Rubber
  • NBPC on HVC – Fiber

The awards are part of the agency’s motivational program for its volunteers and are given annually  to the volunteer-partners who have unselfishly given their time, talents and at times their treasure for the development of the sector.  This year’s theme for the awards focused on those volunteers who have significantly overcome the challenges and circumstances despite the pandemic.  | JC