Unceasing contribution of valued time, talent, skills and resources.

These are the qualities that are evident to every Agricultural and Fishery Council (AFC) chairpersons and coordinators as a true-blue volunteer of the agriculture and fishery industry.

After 29 years since the founding of the AFC, the Philippine Council for Agriculture and Fisheries (PCAF) marked the first-ever awarding of outstanding AFC chairpersons and coordinators on March 9, 2016 at Hotel H2O in Roxas Boulevard, Manila.

The event was the highlight of PCAF’s celebration of its inaugural Volunteers’ Day.

Out of 1,728 AFCs from 16 regions, 82 provinces, 19 cities and 1,611 municipalities, six individuals were recognized for their significant dedication and selfless services as council chairpersons and coordinators.

The AFC is PCAF’s mechanism for private sector participation in the agriculture and fisheries development processes at the regional, provincial and municipal level.

The search aims to acknowledge the remarkable contributions and effort of deserving incumbent Regional AFC (RAFC) Chairperson, Provincial AFC (PAFC) Chairperson, Municipal AFC (MAFC) Chairperson as well as the RAFC Coordinator, PAFC Coordinator, and MAFC Coordinator.

The search, headed by PCAF Exec. Director Ariel Cayanan, started last August 2015. Aside from plaque, the winners received cash prizes worth PhP60,000 each.

RAFC Region 1 Chairperson Vincent Adorna, PAFC Quirino Province Chairperson Dante Tobias, and Ocampo, Camarines Sur MAFC Chairperson Carlito Aquino bagged the awards for Outstanding RAFC, PAFC and MAFC chairperson, respectively.

For the outstanding coordinators, PCAF hailed Milagros Dela Rosa of Region 1 in the regional level, Dominga Cabatu of the Mt. Province in the provincial level, and Lydia Monda of Pamplona, Camarines Sur as the outstanding coordinator in the municipal level.

To help PCAF in the selection, the search’s National Technical Committee was composed of Dr. Jaime Lopez of National Development Authority; Jimmy Sevalla of Local Government Operation Officer of the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG); Shervit Anne Chan, Local Government Operations Officer of DILG; Kenneth Siruelo of the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency; Josephine Aben of Agricultural Training Institute, and Lorna Villegas of DA-Field Operations Services.

The Board of Judges were composed of industry institutions like National Scientist Dr. Gelia Castillo of International Rice Research Institute and Nelia Gonzales of Asia World Properties Philippine Corporation.

Along with them were individuals who are best in their chosen field like former DA Undersecretary Apolonio Bautista, Gomer Tumbali of Food and Agriculture Organization, and Raul Montemayor of Federation of Free Farmers Coop., Inc.

The criteria for evaluation focused on the significant contribution to the agriculture and fishery sector, leadership, performance, sustained commitment and service to the AFC, agri-fishery undertakings or the livelihood projects, community involvement, efficiency, effectiveness and creativity.

Aside from the criteria, AFC chairpersons should have rendered the same position for at least three years, while coordinators should also be in their current position for at least five years to be qualified.

Meanwhile, Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala graced the event and said that the AFC is one of the few ways where the government can establish transparency and creates awareness on the department’s various programs and activities.
Aside from the secretary, former Agriculture Secretary Carlos Dominguez and DILG Bureau Local Government Supervision Director Manuel Gotis were also present in the celebration.

In an interview, Dir. Cayanan said “Sa atin pong mga binigyan ng parangal, muli’t muli ay sinasabi po natin na di po napunta sa wala ang kanilang mga efforts. Your efforts were duly recognized, accepted at binibigyan ng halaga magmula sa gobyerno, papunta sa mga sektor na inyong kinabibilangan. At ang mga resulta nito ay hindi lamang pakikinabangan ng kasalukuyan kundi ng hinaharap.”


Photo shows (L-R) PCAF Exec. Dir. Ariel Cayanan, Outstanding MAFC Chairperson Carlito Aquino, Outstanding MAFC Coordinator Lydia Monda, Assistant Secretary for Administration Allan Umali, Outstanding PAFC Coordinator Dominga Cabatu, Outstanding PAFC Chairperson Dante Tobias, Outstanding RAFC Coordinator Milagros dela Rosa, Outstanding RAFC Chairperson Vincent Adorna, former DA Secretary Carlos Dominguez, and DA Secretary Proceso Alcala.